Home MLS More MLS Yallop wins MLS coach of the year honour

Yallop wins MLS coach of the year honour

Comments Off on Yallop wins MLS coach of the year honour

Last season, a Canadian (Dwayne De Rosario) was named MLS MVP. In 2012, a Canadian is MLS coach of the year.

In a landslide win, San Jose Earthquakes coach Frank Yallop was named the top gaffer of the year. MLS announced the results of the balloting on Tuesday morning.

Yallop steered the Earthquakes, who missed the playoffs the season before, to the Supporters’ Shield, which goes to the team with the league’s best regular-season record. With that first-overall finish comes an automatic berth in the CONCACAF Champions League.

Yallop got more than 74 per cent of the vote from MLS general managers and coaches, 63.83 per cent of the media vote and a hair over 58 per cent of the player vote.

The Earthquakes lost just six of 34 games this season — and striker Chris Wondolowski tied the MLS record for goals in a season, with 27.

Of course, the Earthquakes’ campaign was spoiled by a playoff loss to the Los Angeles Galaxy. After winning the first leg 1-0 in Carson, Calif., the Earthquakes were overwhelmed by the Galaxy in the second leg of their Western Conference semifinal.

Yallop won two MLS Cups as Earthquakes coach in the club’s first MLS incarnation. He was named MLS coach of the year in 2001.

Yallop coached the Canadian national team from 2004-2006.

As a defender, Yallop had 52 caps for Canada through the 1990s.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Steven Sandor
Load More In More MLS
Comments are closed.

Check Also

We watched the MLS Superdraft so you didn’t have to

If you could make it through the marathon of men in suit and ties calling timeouts, the tr…