Home Canadian Soccer Women's National Team Sinclair named national player of the year for the 14th time

Sinclair named national player of the year for the 14th time

Comments Off on Sinclair named national player of the year for the 14th time

Look, it’s easy to get the news that Christine Sinclair has been named Canada’s female soccer player of the year, and think, “of course, again.”

After all, when it comes to voting for soccer awards, we have seen the old guard win over and over — deserving or not. In 20 years, Marta will be long retired, but you wouldn’t 100 per cent bet against her winning awards. 

But, Sinclair, Canada’s all-time leading scorer, is showing us she’s still deserving of the title. She led Canada with eight goals scored in 2018, with four of them coming in the CONCACAF Championships which served as the qualifiers for the 2019 Women’s World Cup.

Adriana Leon came second with six goals scored for Canada, but four of them came in a 12-0 rout of Cuba. So, when it comes to converting chances in front of goal, Sinclair wins not only on number of goals, but on balance.

“Her ability to lead her line as well as the players around her while at the same time performing at her level is simply remarkable and unique,”said Kenneth Heiner-Moller, coach of the women’s national side, in a release issued by Canada Soccer. “Sinclair is a notorious goalscorer, but she should also get credit for her ability to set up goals. She is an important part of the build up play for both her club and our Women’s National Team.”

Sinclair has 177 career international goals, seven back of the all-time record held by American Abby Wambach.

Fans, coaches and media vote for the national player of the year awards. The men’s player of the year will be named on Wednesday.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Steven Sandor
Load More In Women's National Team
Comments are closed.

Check Also

Zero is my hero: Despite being shut out in two of three matches, Canada takes third at Algarve Cup

To finish third at a tournament, in which more than three teams were participating, withou…