Home Featured Outerbridge named MVP; Fury dominates W-League awards

Outerbridge named MVP; Fury dominates W-League awards

Comments Off on Outerbridge named MVP; Fury dominates W-League awards
Mallory Outerbridge, W-League MVP
Canadian teams provided the winners for four of the five major W-League award winners.

The USL announced the award winners on Thursday night.

Mallory Outerbridge, who led the Ottawa Fury to an undefeated run through the regular season and the Central Conference championship, was named the league MVP. This wasn’t a surprise; Outerbridge led all of the W-League with 17 goals in 12 regular-season games.

The Fury also boasted two other major award winners. Dominic Oliveri was named the W-League coach of the year, and Texas native Amanda Fancher was named defender of the year.

The Fury goes into this weekend’s W-League final four in Seattle as the clear favourite to take it all. Undefeated season, MVP, league’s top defender and the coach of the year, too. A title would finish the storybook season.

Vancouver Whitecaps’ forward Sydney Leroux, who scored 11 goals in 11 games, was named the rookie of the year. Leroux is pegged to be the next great American women’s team striker. She’s already the record holder at the U-20 level, with 36 career goals.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Charles
Load More In Featured
Comments are closed.

Check Also

FC Edmonton says Landskrona BoIS can’t use Boakai until a deal is sealed

“They can’t do anything until they look after us,” said Miller. …